Soup Topped with Chicken and Rice

Chicken spinach soup.blog

This soup was very rich and delicious as I used more of the wonderfully healthful bone broth made from the organic chicken. Much to my surprise, there really IS a difference in the consistency and taste of the meat, and even the fat that rises to the surface is different.

Regular chickens produce broth that has hard fat on the top when it is refrigerated. I find that there is a lot less fat, and what there is tends to melt at room temperature when left out of the refrigerator for more than about ten minutes. I use this fat in cooking, but a couple of tablespoons are spread over about a week. The bone broth itself also seems to be considerably denser, too, which I presume is from a greater content of gelatin.

This soup was just as tasty as it looks, and we were sad to see it come to an end!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Soup Topped with Chicken and Rice

  1. Looks so tasty and healthy! 🙂

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    The soup looks very tasty. I am sitting here, looking at it and drooling. I think it’s time to stop for a snack. Thanks for sharing and making me hungry…enjoy the rest of the week!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.