After Seven Years

mostly cooked bacon.blog

After DH’s stem cell transplant procedure in December of 2007, he lost his taste for bacon. We were never BIG bacon eaters, but it had its place. Recently there was a sale on the store brand of bacon so I splurged on two packages and cooked it up all at once, thinking that I would just sprinkle it in things here and there on my own plate.

As it turned out, I found a lot of things to put it into whilst cooking, albeit in small amounts. It has been very handy to have a little bacon grease to saute things in from time to time, and the slight smokiness of the bacon itself has added a nice dimension to a few dishes. I’ll try to remember to mention this as I go along.

I don’t think we are quite ready for BLT’s just yet, but we are enjoying my latest experiments!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to After Seven Years

  1. Kit says:

    I can smell that bacon from here! Ahhhhhh. . .

    But the really important content is your post is that the G-Man has had another 7 years, thanks to modern medicine and the care of his Earth Angel: Dr. J

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Judy Bell says:

    I hate to admit that I could put a big dent in that plate all by myself. I love bacon!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sheila says:

    You amaze me every day. What a loving thing to do with bacon. You are a real example of how we should treat our spouses. God bless you.💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • judilyn says:

      Oh, how you make me blush! Gary is a wonderful person, and it has been my pleasure to do everything possible to keep him here on earth for as long as possible! So far, so good! ;->

      Like

  4. bjdewell says:

    I very seldom eat bacon, but I like it. Once in a while I want a bacon sandwich like we had sometimes as a quick breakfast when I was a kid. Just buttered toast with strips of well cooked bacon inside. Crunchy and lots of taste. Your plate of cooked bacon looks delicious.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. gypsy97 says:

    I get a craving for bacon now and then, but even when I buy the smallest package I use 2 or 3 slices and the rest just sits in the fridge. This time I fried it up and have added it to scrambled eggs, as well as vegetables. Like you, I love having the bacon grease.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Clanmother says:

    You have made my day pure sunshine!! We live in moments that are defined by our family and friends!! ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Liz says:

    Happy New Year. I am glad to hear about the progress with bacon, but even more happy to hear he’s been off drugs for the last 2 months. What a relief. I wish you both a Happy and Prosperous 2015. I love your positive attitude and motivation.
    Virtual Hugs,
    Liz

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Sharon says:

    I’m an unabashed bacon lover. Odd how medical reasons — and sometimes just time can change our tastes.

    Glad you can still use it for flavor and texture in other dishes.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Sherry says:

    Seven years, you guys are an inspiration and two months of no drugs sounds like heaven. Simply wonderful with or without bacon. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  10. rvjohn says:

    Have you seen the TV commercial where they are advertising the bacon flavored dog food? I kind of feel like that dog when I see and smell bacon …… “bacon, bacon bacon!” And I come running too LOL.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.