Two Eggs and Three Fruits

two eggs and three fruits

Yup – It’s Sunday again. Time for our Treat Breakfast.

Not much to add for text, but this joke has had us laughing for a couple of days. Are you, or do you live with, an engineer? Even a software engineer? Well, then you will feel my pain, and laugh heartily at this joke.

DH says that clearly there is a semi-colon missing in the statement. Apparently the action described below is what happens if the semi-colon is left out!

“A wife asks her husband, a software engineer…
“Could you please go shopping for me and buy one carton of milk, and if they have eggs, get 6!”

A short time later the husband comes back with 6 cartons of milk. The wife asks him, “Why did you buy 6 cartons of milk?”

He replied, “They had eggs.”

RIM SHOT

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Two Eggs and Three Fruits

  1. Sharon says:

    Groan!

    But it makes sense to me! 😀

    Like

  2. Kit says:

    Happy Mother’s Day!

    (And, um, about that software engineer? Did the G-Man really do that? )

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      No, this wasn’t exactly a personal experience, but there are similar instances day in and day out! It’s given a whole new meaning to “unintended consequences”!

      Like

  3. Well, grammatically he was right, yet practically he was way of! 🙂 Hope I’m not missing a semi-colon somewhere… 🙂

    Like

  4. Well, maybe not a semi-colon, but I did miss one f in off… 😀

    Like

  5. Sherry says:

    HA!HA! Love it! Sounds like an English teacher joke to me.

    Like

  6. dawnbmoore says:

    Another yummo brekkie! I was married to an engineers for 23 years & yup, I totally get that…but it didn’t make me laugh!

    Like

  7. gypsy97 says:

    That joke was so funny, but I admit I had to read it twice! The breakfast looks delicious.

    Like

  8. Clanmother says:

    I laughed out loud!!

    Like

  9. Clanmother says:

    Are those blackberries? They look so juicy.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      Yes! Blackberries!!! They are a big favorite around here, and they have been on sale all week for $.97/six ounce container. There is a limit of four per person, per visit, so we have visited often. They freeze beautifully – just like fresh if allowed to thaw in the refrigerator before eating. I think we acquired 24 baskets of them over the week; most of them are cooling their jets in the freezer right now, but we are gobbling them down wholesale at breakfast and dinner every day.

      Like

  10. Jim Melvin says:

    I shouldn’t be reading your blog first thing in the morning before breakfast. It makes me very hungry, but my breakfast never quite look as good as yours.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      That’s our special Sunday breakfast; weekdays it is five-grain cooked cereal, with all kinds of healthy add ins. Swing by Sierra Vista next time you’re in Arizona and we’ll invite you to brunch! ;->

      Like

  11. Yes. punctuation does save lives…
    “Let’s eat Grandma”
    “Let’s eat, Grandma”

    (All it needed was a comma!!)

    Like

  12. LFFL says:

    LOL! Hilarious.

    Like

  13. Liz says:

    It’s not such a good idea to visit your blog before I have my breakfast. I’m starving and now i see all these nice looking foods that I can only admire and not eat…I have to fry myself an egg right now. Thanks for making me drool…you’re probably still getting your last dose of sleep. Enjoy the day. Mine is sunny and warm!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.