Pot Roast and Mashed Potato Surprise

beef 'n' collards

On my last trip to the grocery store, I “invested” in a huge hunk o’ cow and made a pot roast in the pressure cooker. I can’t believe how many delicious dinners and lunch hot sandwiches that we have had from this one piece of meat. The cost was $11.64, and I know there were at least twenty servings of meat involved in all of these meals. Granted, I don’t eat a lot of meat, and you usually see my plate in the photographs, but DH eats a fair amount more than I do to try to get his blood count numbers at least waving towards the normal range.

All that said, this lovely piece of meat has made meals super easy for me this week. What you see here is the result of almost no work at all. I used my rice cooker to cook both the white potatoes and the sweet potatoes at the same time; plopped the fresh collards into a big pan with a trivet on the bottom and just let them steam. I still had some gravy from the last meal, so just tossed some sliced mushrooms and onions into a teaspoon or so of coconut oil to cook a bit, and then tossed in the leftover gravy.

Now . . . why “mashed potato surprise”? Well, I pulled out the sour cream to put into the potatoes as I mashed them, and ACK! OH, NO – J A L A P E N O !!

Neither of us particularly cares for jalapeño, but what the heck – I’ll give it a go. I mixed it in about equal parts with regular yogurt and a bit of half and half, closed my eyes, dumped it in, and gave the potatoes a good stomping with my potato masher.

Wheee – that’s the way I’m gonna do it from now on! That was just dee-licious!

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pot Roast and Mashed Potato Surprise

  1. LFFL says:

    Well look at that fabulous dinner!

    Like

  2. Liz says:

    It does look like a very delicious meal without too many additives. I would eat this anyway! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

