Chinese-style Stir Fry with Linguini

Chinese stir fry on linguini.blog

BOK CHOY! Have you ever tried it? It is really an amazing vegetable. When I am cutting it up for the base of a nice stir fry, it is hard to not gobble it all down. It is sweetish, and juicy . . . what’s not to like? I usually make up a little raw appetizer skewer of the bok choy, mushrooms, and red pepper to whet the appetite of my favorite diner – not that he needs any encouragement!

There is always some pasta and chicken leftover from the Chicken Cacciatore, and this is a delightful change of pace. The carefully-sautéed almonds and sesame seeds are a nice touch, and a sprinkle of sesame oil really brings out the oriental-ness of this dish.

Don’t be intimidated by the huge size of a stalk of bok choy. I use about half of one at a time, and the other half lasts at least a week in the refrigerator. Sometimes there are smaller stalks, and there is also Baby Bok Choy, but I haven’t seen the Baby Bok Choy here yet. There is a market in Tucson (17th Street Market) that has it, but I don’t get up there very often.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chinese-style Stir Fry with Linguini

  1. Judy Bell says:

    If I am not hungry when I open your posts, I sure am by the time I finish reading them. 🙂

    Like

  2. LFFL says:

    I love the addition of sesame seeds there.

    Like

    • judilyn says:

      I didn’t think quickly enough, or I could have toasted them with the almonds. I get just plain unshelled sesame seeds in five-pound bags, so there are plenty. (Good on cereal, too!)

      Like

  3. Liz says:

    The Bok Choy sold here are usually small and pretty. Never come across the really huge ones people talk about. I love Bok Choy too. Great veggie for stir fries!

    Like

  4. Traci says:

    Veggies that taste good and also last in the fridge are a huge bonus for a single gal!

    Like

  5. Sharon says:

    What a delicious looking dish! And I love bok choy, too.

    One year I grew baby bok choy. It’s the perfect size for a home kitchen!

    I would not have thought of serving linguini with it. Great idea! 🙂

    Like

  6. Clanmother says:

    I was just at the market yesterday and almost bought some bok choy. This is a message that I should go back and pick some up. I agree – it is amazingly delicious.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.