The Secret Ingredient

tomato pesto.blog
I try to keep a loaf of focaccia around because we have found that it does yeoman duty to make a meal more than just a “meal” – it can be a real eating experience!

The last two posts have shown a pizza with olives visible. Indeed, the only other ingredient that is not mentioned is the invisible tomato pesto that you see above. A thin layer of this deliciousness spread on a piece of focaccia, topped with your favorite cheese (this happens to be Muenster) and topped with whatever you like, et voilá, pizza!

If you want to serve this “pizza” as a main dish, you can just add more goodies to the top, but it is delicious just like this with soup.

What? No focaccia on hand? Well, then try it with an English muffin or a sturdy sandwich roll.

Simple, and oh so easy.

About judilyn

RV'er, foody, caregiver, knowledge seeker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Secret Ingredient

  1. Your posts always make me want to run to the kitchen! This sounds so good, but I’m worried about tomatos as I don’t do well with them especially since my gallbladder removal. Do you think this would be too tomato-ey if I spread it thin enough?

    Like

  2. LFFL says:

    I love the thought of a good mini pizza. The pesto sauce sounds good for it.

    Like

  3. Bev says:

    I’ve tried this tomato pesto (thanks to Judie) and can attest that it truly is delicious. Odd that they call it a “sauce” because it’s not very sauce-like.

    Like

  4. Liz says:

    That looks like a pesto sauce I would love to use pronto, now…where do you get all these lovely ingredients that I never see when I go shopping??? I have to start opening my eyes and shop smart!!!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Martha’s Split Pea Soup | Adventures of Dorrie Anne

Leave a Reply

